Leviticus 8-10

Chapter 8
Moses washes and anoints Aaron and his sons, consecrating them to the priesthood.
Moses sacrifices a sin offering (bull), burnt offering (ram), ordination offering (ram) and grain offering.  The priests eat of the last two in the gate, and stay in the tabernacle seven days.

Chapter 9
On the eighth day (new creation), the priests take over doing the sacrifices instead of Moses.  They bring sin and burnt offerings, the people bring sin, burnt, grain and peace offerings.  Then Aaron blesses the people (benediction) with raised hands.  Fire comes supernaturally from God to burn up the sacrifices.

Chapter 10
Two of Aaron's sons make unauthorized fire in the tabernacle, and God strikes them dead for it.  He tells Aaron not to mourn, though Israel may.  No alcohol is allowed in the tabernacle (were Nadab and Abihu drunk?)  Aaron has the sin offering burned instead of eaten.  This goes against God's instruction, and Moses gets mad.  But Aaron didn't feel worthy to eat it after what happened to Nadab and Abihu.  Moses accepts that.

How this is about Jesus

  • Jesus went into the true sanctuary in heaven and made atonement for us as the great high priest.
  • He was raised on the eighth day, the day after the sabbath, after a week of consecration and redemptive work (lamb selection at Triumphal entry, teaching, sacrifice).
  • His sacrifice was pleasing to God, as He Himself was.  He committed no rebellion, mistake or lack of faith.

There is a clear order to the sacrifices: sin, then whole burnt consecration, then peace offering eaten, then benediction.  It corresponds to our worship order today: confession of sin, preaching of Word (a knife that cuts us up and arranges us for consecration to God), Communion.
Be careful tampering with worship!  Don't just inject whatever you want.  Follow Scriptural principles.

No comments:

Post a Comment